50 years – Restaurant Split




50 years Restaurant Split

.

»Traveling to other times only exists in Science-Fiction movies? Far from it. Visiting the Restaurant Split reminds a lot on earlier days, when we used to go to the Yugo.” (Michael Kranz, 2011, Berliner Zeitung)

.

Welcome to Restaurant Split, the oldest Croatian restaurant in Berlin

.

Germany in the 1960s: The demand of foreign workers is very high. Mate Pogacic and Slavko Covic, two young men from Tijarica, a small village north from the coastal city of Split, decide to try their luck in then Western-Berlin. Both are in their early 20s and work as waiters. In the late spring of 1966 it seems as if they found the suitable premise to reach the goal of self-employment.

Before, there was only the Kolo-Grill on Kurfürstendamm, the Sisko-Grill at Wilmersdorfer Straße and the Balkan-Pik on Sonnenallee. The two young men thought there is potential for more, and soon afterwards the “Split-Grill” advanced to a popular venue for fellow countrymen. But also the German walk-in customers quickly fell in love with the warm and unusual cuisine. The concept remains the same today: Waiters, white tablecloths, Cevapcici, good service, fair prices and Sljivo on cost of the house.

With the time typical meals arise with help from the guests: The Potpourri Plate, Pola-Pola, the Robbers Plate, Julischka … things that don’t really exist in Croatia though. During the first years of the “Split-Grill” there was often a state of emergency, especially on Friday evenings, because all “Gastarbeiter” received their weekly wage on that day. At that time, the bar was located left from the entry and there were even stairs for the first floor.

Already one year after inauguration, in 1967 the two young restaurateurs decided to go seperate ways, with the result that Slavko Covic moved on and established further restaurants. Both Mate Pogacic and Slavko Covic had no idea that their concept was a forerunner for many fellow countrymen, mainly from the already mentioned village of Tijarica. In honor of that development, the main road through Tijarica was renamed to “Berliner Straße” in the 1990s. Our restaurant remains the most long-lasting in Berlin. The “Split-Grill” survived complicated periods for gastronomy unscathed like the fall of the Berlin wall and the subsequent caravans towards east.

In 2011, founder Mate Pogacic handed his restaurant over to one of his employees. Compatriot Zeljko Zarko continued with the permanent staff and with typical quality. One small change is the switch to the traditional Croatian brewery of Karlovacko. After cautious renovation, the interior still appears like the original from 1984, the lamps for example are still very “80s”.

.

Even if you did not visited “Split” in a long time, you will be surprised that you might even be recognized. Try it out!

.

Gallery

50 Jahre Restaurant Split




50 Jahre Restaurant Split

.

»Reisen in andere Zeiten gibt es nur in Science-Fiction-Filmen? Weit gefehlt. Beim Besuch des Restaurant Split erinnerte viel an frühere Zeiten, als man zum Jugo ging.«(Michael Kranz, 2011 in BZ)

.

Willkommen im Restaurant Split, einem der traditionsreichsten kroatischen Restaurants in Berlin.

.

Deutschland in den Sechziger Jahren: Der Ruf nach Fremdarbeitern ist groß. Mate Pogacic und Slavko Covic, zwei junge Männer aus Tijarica, einem kleinen Dorf im Hinterland der Küstenstadt Split, verschlägt es ins damalige West-Berlin. Beide sind Anfang 20 und arbeiten als Kellner.

Bis dahin gibt es in Berlin den Kolo-Grill am Kudamm, den Sisko-Grill in der Wilmersdorfer Straße und das Balkan-Pik an der Sonnenallee. “Da geht noch mehr“, denken sich die jungen Männer. Schnell avanciert der „Split-Grill“ zum In-Treff ihrer kroatischen Landsleute. Doch auch die deutsche Laufkundschaft verliebt sich in die noch relativ unbekannte Küche. Das Konzept ist bis heute dasselbe: Kellner, weiße Tischdecken, Cevapcici, guter Service, gute Preise und Slivo aufs Haus.

Typische Gerichte entstehen in dieser Zeit unter Mitwirkung der Gäste: Die Potpourri-Platte, Pola-Pola, der Räuberteller, Julishka… alles Dinge, die man in Kroatien vergeblich sucht. In den Anfangsjahren befindet sich der „Split-Grill“ vor allem freitags in regelrechtem Ausnahmezustand, da die sogenannten Gastarbeiter ihren Wochenlohn erhalten. Damals befindet sich der Tresen noch links vom Eingang und es existiert eine Treppe ins erste Obergeschoss.

Schon 1967 trennen sich die beiden Junggastronomen und Slavko Covic gründet weitere Restaurants in West-Berlin. Mate Pogacic und Slavko Covic rechnen nicht im Entferntesten damit, mit Ihrer Idee ein Wegbereiter für viele Landsleute, vorzugsweise aus dem Ort Tijarica aus dem kroatischen Küstenhinterland, zu werden. Zu Ehren dieser Entwicklung in Berlin heißt seit Beginn der Neunziger Jahre die Hauptstraße in Tijarica Berliner Straße. Das Ur-„Split“ erweist sich als das langlebigste Restaurant. Auch die für Gastronomen komplizierten Jahre nach dem Fall der Berliner Mauer und die Karawane gen Osten übersteht das „Split“ ohne Blessuren.

2011 übergibt Gründer Mate Pogacic das Restaurant an einen seiner Angestellten. Landsmann Zeljko Zarko führt die Geschäfte mit Stammpersonal in typischer Qualität fort. Eine kleine Änderung ist lediglich der Wechsel zur kroatischen Traditions-Bierbrauerei Karlovacko. Nach behutsamer Erneuerung befindet sich das Interieur fast noch im Originalzustand von 1984, die Lampen sind „voll Achtziger“.

.

Auch wenn Sie dem „Split“ lange keinen Besuch abgestattet haben, werden Sie überrascht sein, dass man Sie vielleicht noch erkennt. Probieren Sie es aus!

.

Gallery